What happens if a player contacts the net during a play?

Study for the NFHS Volleyball Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player contacts the net during a play, the action generally results in a fault. This means that if the player touches the net with their body or uniform while trying to hit the ball, it is considered a mistake under the rules of volleyball. As a consequence, the opposing team is awarded a point, and the serve goes to them.

Understanding the rules surrounding net contact is crucial for players, as this kind of infraction directly impacts the outcome of a rally. While there can be some nuances to when net contact is deemed a fault—such as if it merely grazes the net without affecting the play—the general rule holds that any significant contact resulting in interference, especially when the player is in the act of playing the ball, will be called as a fault. This reinforces the importance of maintaining control and awareness of one’s position relative to the net during play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy