Is it permissible for a libero to replace a player after a replay is called?

Study for the NFHS Volleyball Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The correct answer indicates that it is not permissible for a libero to replace a player after a replay is called. In volleyball, the rules surrounding the libero's role and substitutions are quite specific. A replay is called typically when there is a disruption in play, such as an issue with the ball or a situation that does not favor either team.

During such a disruption, the intention is to retain the line-up as it was at the moment of the replay, since any change, including substitutions, could potentially alter the dynamics of the game unfairly. Allowing the libero to replace a player after a replay could lead to confusion about the line-ups and disrupt the flow of the game, undermining the integrity of the match. Thus, the rule clearly states that substitutions, including those involving the libero, cannot occur until the play has officially resumed.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy