How can a player legally recover a ball that has hit the ceiling?

Study for the NFHS Volleyball Exam. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

A player can legally recover a ball that has hit the ceiling when the ball is coming from the team’s side of the net. This is because, according to volleyball rules, if a ball hits the ceiling and then crosses the net back down into the opponent's side, it remains in play as long as the ball was played by the team that is attempting to recover it. This means that the ball is still considered in play if it hits the ceiling first, provided that it did not cross the net untouchably before hitting the ceiling.

In contrast, if the ball hits the ceiling on the opponent's side, it is out of play. Furthermore, simply playing the ball before it strikes the ceiling does not provide a legal advantage if the ball is still going out of bounds or has already crossed the net in an unobstructed manner where it shouldn't be played. Understanding these specific rules about ceiling contact and where the ball is coming from helps players make the right decisions during a game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy